I love my dog… actually, all dogs

“A dog is the only thing on earth that loves you more than he loves himself.” –Josh Billings

Picture this:
Sunday, February 4, 2018, 6:30 p.m.
I’m minding my own business, tidying some things in my room.
The neighbors keep cheering – it sounds like they are having a riot.

“What the heck is going on?” I thought to myself.

oh…

The Super Bowl… Right. I tuned into the JT halftime show, that counts. I have my priorities too, okay? …

But really this means only one thing to me – THE PUPPY BOWL!

I’ve never really considered myself a cat or a dog person. I mean, they’re both great in their separate ways. But man, dogs really are a man’s best friend. I could talk about them for hours, so I thought, “Why not give it a shot?” Here are some ramblings about dogs for your viewing pleasure…

dogcollage

Freshman year, I was stupidly stressed out about an assignment – I was probably being dramatic about Western Heritage – when one of my friends showed me a picture of a pup. But this was not just any pup, this one made tears stream down my face. Was it the pressure of finals, or its sheer adorableness? We may never know.

I used to browse the internet for dogs that are available for adoption. My personal research shows you can only do that for so long before you adopt one yourself. Each one has its own story, its own future up ahead filled with new tricks and new treats.

One of my favorite things is when a dog tries walking past you but gets too excited and accidentally jumps on you. Usually the owners apologize, but I usually thank them because every dog deserves to be told they’re a good boy.

A dog’s love, sometimes even to complete strangers, knows no bounds. The people around you might forget to ask how your day was, but everyday when you come home from work, your dog will be just as excited to see you as the day before.

It’s hard to always put others before yourself. I mean after all, your own happiness is pretty important. A dog doesn’t care about that kind of thing. If you are sick on the couch, they will be asleep next to you. When you are ready to go on a walk, they will go fetch their own leash. (Mowgli is still working on that one.)

Dogs don’t care about themselves. They care about you and always put other people as a priority before themselves (unless there’s peanut butter involved). Imagine a world where all humans acted with such selflessness – loving their neighbors more than themselves and helping others more than they help themselves. Dramatic, I know.


You know how some memoirs are collections of essays? This one will go into a chapter titled something cheesy and dramatic like, “Little things my dog taught me.”

What’s your favorite thing about dogs?!

5 thoughts on “I love my dog… actually, all dogs

Leave a comment