An Awkward Intro for the New Year

Knock. Knock.
Who’s there?
That Girl Marisa.
That Girl Marisa who?
You know, the millennial…

Hey, guys, it’s me, Marisa! Thanks for stopping by again. For those tuning in for the first time, at the beginning of 2018, I set out with the goal of starting a blog. I can hardly believe it’s been almost a whole year since our first awkward encounter. This is where I could add in a cliché about how a lot has happened since then, but the truth is while it has, it also most certainly hasn’t. Let me explain.

A year always seems to fly by, jam packed with day to day shenanigans, but still, it’s so easy to feel stuck in a routine. Our whole lives we were taught, nay, conditioned, to prepare for the future – high school, college, the “real world,” etc. Well, now I’m here, and I’m not quite sure what’s next. I’ve come to long for big changes but don’t have anything coming up on the horizon and now just need to learn how to be happy, content with the here and the now … or do I?

You see my issue here? Once I set aside this daily conundrum, taking a step back to appreciate the memories and adventures that were had, 2018 sure cracked up to be a great year. In fact, it was my first full year of working (#adulting) full-time after graduation.2018FunTimes_2withtext_v2.jpg

From Memphis and Reno to the Grand Canyon and the Hoover Dam, there were a lot of new places to explore as well as life’s treasures right here in Kenosha, like meeting Mowgli’s first puppy-school friends, limiting guinea pig escapees and electing more women to congress than ever before. In 2019, there’s of course some things I want to accomplish, including that Spanish course I paid for two years ago, creating a five-year plan and running at least a 10K. No matter what happens, this blog serves as a digital scrapbook to keep track of where I’ve been, where I’m headed and where my daydreams wander off to.

And that, my friends, is all I have to say for now. You can always browse available categories to get a glimpse of what’s in store. If you choose to follow along with whatever ensues, thank you, and if you need me, you know where to find me.

-xoxo, mar

 

Leave a comment