Finding the Magic in an Outdoor Movie

With the fluffiest grass underneath your blanket, a tasty bag of popcorn by your side, a cinematic classic playing nearby and the twinkling stars in the sky above, there’s nothing quite like the magic of an outdoor movie experience. I bet you’re picturing the drive-in, aren’t you? Wrong.

Over four years ago the Kenosha drive-in closed for the season. Actually, it closed indefinitely, which is why visiting the historic site wasn’t included in the legendary “How Kenosha Are You?” quiz. Womp, womp. I won’t let that stop me from watching a movie under the stars though.

All I had to do was find some showings in the park, and my wish would be granted. Luckily in Kenosha, there’s a whole lot of free, outdoor movies for us townies to take advantage of. If you’re curious about my whereabouts, which you are if you’re reading this, this summer, I just could’t pass-up watching CoCo at the Kingfish Stadium.

You know how some movies are meant to be seen with other people in a theater on the big screen? Well, I officially believe that some movies are meant to be seen on a blanket in the park as a sing along. It’s quite a nostalgic, irreplaceable community viewing experience.

Well, there is one alternative. Let me speak from personal experience here. You could also try renting a projector from the library to create your own at-home movie experience. Now that’s the perfect way to capture all the fun of a drive-in right in your own backyard!

And I bet there’s a whole bunch of similar events in your town also. Although, it’s probably too late in the season to find one, so maybe we should just put a pin in this one until next year.

What types of community events have you taken advantage of lately? Share your stories in the comments.

Leave a comment