Meet the Spice Girls

Now this is a story all about how
My life got so full of hay
And I’d like to take a minute
Just sit right there
I’ll tell you how I became the parent of two little piggies

As I write this, there’s a slight stench in the air, serving as a reminder that it’s about time to clean my guinea pig cage. But first, let’s rewind. If you’ve been here since day one, then you know my two guinea pigs are quite the messy little trouble makers.

Last year, I found myself with an abundance of time. Time that I thought would be best spent taking care of a pet. A dog? There’s no way I was ready for that. (Ha!) When I saw these piggies posted on Craigslist, I just couldn’t resist. Two little critters for the price of one? Count me in!

Their names are Ginny (Ginger) and Nutmeg, or as I like to call them: The Spice Girls. We’ve had a lot of fun together so far, like their first trip to the groomers to get their nails clipped and regularly chasing them around my room because they are such expert escape artists. Oh, the good times we’ve had.

Twitter_01

Did I mention the hay? It’s everywhere. I find it in the tub after I take a shower. I find it in my hair. It’s on my clothes, in my lunchbox, everywhere – I’ve lost control.

In honor of this hot mess, and my sweet girls, I’ve crafted my first “music video.”

guineapigfreshprince_2_resized-Recovered

Yes, a music video. I know, I’ve really out done myself this time. Spoiler: it’s sung to the tune of Fresh Prince of Bel Air just in time for Will Smith’s 50th birthday. For the full video, click here. Enjoy!

Add in Mowgli, who we most certainly were ready to adopt just two months later, and we have quite the little family going for us these days.

Do you have any advice do for first time guinea pig owners? Or pet owners in general? Share your tips in the comments!

One thought on “Meet the Spice Girls

Leave a comment