Kick-Starting Autumn with Apples

In the mid-west, we’re counting down the days to below zero weather and snow days. Until winter hits, I’m celebrating with all things fall, like apple orchards and cozy new recipes.

 

First stop? Harvest Time Orchards for roughly forty dollars worth of apples, which is enough apples for a lifetime, if you were wondering. No, we didn’t WANT to buy forty dollars worth, but that’s just what we had to do. Though it was fun to prance around finding the tastiest ones, which by the way were the Johnathans, I won’t be rushing to the grocery store for apples anytime soon, trust me. I will, however, be putting each and every lucky pick to good use. No. Apple. Left. Behind.

Apples

For starters, my sweet tooth was calling, so I went a-looking and stumbled across these tasty Apple Butter Bars. Oh right, did I mention I had a huge jar of apple butter to use up too? Two for one combo right there. I was a little too eager to use up all those apples, making it a texture more comparable to bread pudding, but it was still a nice treat.

Carmel apples were the next obvious choice, and no regrets were made. We heated up the caramel sauce like a fondue – a messy but thrilling experience. Once doused in probably way too much caramel, the toppings came next, and ours included CoCoa Puffs, Reese’s Pieces, chopped nuts, etc. Yumm!

Now, to put the rest of that apple butter to good use, I turned to this completely out of the ordinary Apple Butter and Chipotle Chicken.

Chicken

In fact, this recipe turned out so uniquely delicious that I’ve made it a couple times. Who could resist pretending the blender works the same as a food processor? Not me that’s for sure. The smokey taste of the chipotles in adobo sauce combined with the sweetness of the apple butter just makes such a unique blend of flavors, satisfying any delectable craving across all your tastebuds. Then again, I could probably say that about any recipe I whip together.

Together, these three new recipes wrap up my fall festivities. You know, because we’ll have snow any day now. But I still have ~15 apples to go, so let’s see where life takes us. What are some of your favorite fall recipes? Share them in the comments!

Leave a comment